Film Making on DSLR Cameras

I was concerned that I couldn’t adjust any of the settings on my camera when I was filming my footage because I knew that in photography, changing the settings could make a massive difference. I didn’t know how to do this or even if it was possible, so I researched it and found this video on youtube and found it so helpful! It goes through all the settings you can change on your camera for filming and also gives tips on the post production of your film.

COPPINGER, J., 2014. How To Achieve A Film Look – DSLR Film Making [2 November 2015]. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QbBR7IsBbZ8

I also found this video on YouTube about how to set your camera settings correctly for low light or night time lighting situations. I found this video so helpful so I wanted to put it in my blog so I can refer back to it whenever I need to.

FENCHEL; JANISCH, 2013. DSLR video: Tips for filming at night & in low light [2 November 2015]. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OxCQEa_4yeQ

Tips I learned from these videos:
-You can change the Movie Exposure to manual so that you can manually change the settings to get the best image, e.g. the aperture, ISO and shutter speed.
-24 frames per second (fps) are most commonly used in feature films because it makes the video not too smooth but not too jerky, making it more realistic.
-When shooting with 24 or 25 fps, use a shutter speed of 1/50, meaning the shutter speed should be 2X the fps.
-The higher the ISO, the brighter the image; however the higher the ISO the grainier the image, so you need to find a happy medium when shooting in dark conditions.
iso examples
GEARPATROL, 2015. Gear Patrol Upgrade: Ten Tips to Take Better Photos [2 November 2015]. Available from: http://gearpatrol.com/2009/09/22/gear-patrol-upgrade-ten-tips-to-take-better-photos/

-The higher the aperture number, the darker the image will be as it lets in the least light as the hole in the lens is really small. The lower the aperture number, the lighter the footage will be as the hole is really big.
aperture
TAYYZ1990, 2011. Basics of Photography 4: Aperture. In: TAYLEARNINGPHOTOGRAPHY. 5 January 2011 [2 November 2015]. Available from: https://taylearningphotography.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/basics-of-photography-4-aperture/

-A high aperture will give you a deep depth of field and a low aperture will give you a shallow depth of field. This means a high aperture will allow more to be in focus, whereas a low aperture will only put the foreground objects in focus and blur everything else away.
image006
GALITZ, R., 2007. Depth of Field – Deeper than you think [2 November 2015]. Available from: http://www.galitz.co.il/en/articles/DOF.shtml

-It will be easier to film in low light settings with a lens that has aperture F/1.2 – F/2.8 as this will allow more light into the lens. He recommended using a F/2 – F/2.8 when filming in darker situations.
-The auto focus may have problems focusing well on it’s own, especially if there is low light, so put it to manual focus so that you can focus the lens on what you want it to focus on.

I am feeling a lot more confident that I know what I am doing now and I hope this will give me better image quality and more control over how I want the lighting to look. I will experiment with these techniques to see how they come out.

Leave a Reply

