Experimenting with Colour

This lesson was a chance to be more creative and abstract with makeup! I used aqua colour all over the face as I had never used it before and so I wanted to experiment with it. I really like how it dried very matte and once it had dried it didn’t really move. Whereas with supra colour, even if you leave it on the skin for a while, it will still smudge very easily. Supra colour also dries with a dewy finish, whereas aqua colour dries matte, both giving very different finishes. I found that the aqua colour dried very quickly which meant that I didn’t have as much time to blend as I would have done with supra colour. I was really impressed with the intensity of the aqua colour and I like that if I didn’t want such a harsh colour, I could just add more water.
elizabeth-banks-660
FOA, 2012. Tutorial: Effie Trinket from the Hunger Games Inspired Lips [2 November 2015]. Available from: http://blog.faceofaustralia.com.au/index.php/2012/03/27/tutorial-effie-trinket-from-the-hunger-games-inspired-lips/

I used the character Effie Trinket for inspiration as I loved the bright colours and mixtures of colour that she wears. She has a very eccentric personality and wears very abstract, individual things to make herself stand out. I took the colours pink, purple and yellow from the look above and created a very avant-garde look with some blended edges and some harsh lines. I used masking tape to create the very harsh lines and I smudges the aqua colour when it was wet down her lips.
IMG_3791
IMG_3792 IMG_3793

Leave a Reply

