Creating Girl 1 – Makeup

This is an image of my model that will be Girl 1. I have decided that she will be the girl that is very girly and babyish and acts like a princess. I chose this model because she has very plump lips, full cheeks and big blue eyes. She also has very bleach blonde hair which I think would be perfect for a very youthful and fresh look. 
josie

I made a mood board of the images that I was inspired by so that I could see them all together and then hopefully be able to put different aspects together to make my own unique look.
Baby Doll Makeup

Eyes
I also really like the use of white eyeliner in the waterline to make the eyes look bigger and more round. I want to make the eyes look as big as possible for the girly look because in the film she will be looking very wide eyed and shocked, almost like a deer in the headlights. I like the use of fake bottom eyelashes because it really drags the eyes down to make them look more round. I may draw these fake eyelashes onto the skin to give a more precise and dramatic look. I may also draw on the top eyelashes, again, to make them really intense looking. I like the idea of using coloured eyelashes, however I think these will be more appropriate for the hippie character. I want to use bright and fresh colours on the eyes, possibly blues, pink and yellows. I may add a darker colour to emphasise any parts to make the eyes look bigger and I will add a bright white on the brow bone and any areas I need to bring forward. I could add glitter or coloured gems round the eyes to add a more fun and playful look. I really want to use coloured eye contacts because I think it will make the eyes look more fake and bright, making then look more doll-like.

Lips
My model already has very plump and rounded lips, but I am going to overdraw the lips slightly on the top and bottom, but only in the middle to make them look more narrow, but still very big. I may add a lip gloss to make the lips look even more plump, however because the eyes are going to be so bright it may look too much. I may do a slight ombre lip to further accentuate how big they are.

Face
I love the use of freckles in the bottom image because I think it would give a more youthful look and add a cute and innocent look.  I want her to have very dewy skin and for her skin to be flawless as I want her to be very perfect looking. I will either use a very shimmery eyeshadow/highlighter or vaseline to give a more wet look. I am not going to contour at all or add any bronzer because I want her face to look very round and fresh. I don’t think I’m going to make the eyebrows very defined or prominent because I want her eyes to look very open and I don’t want them to look heavy and way the face down. I am going to go very heavy with the blush and focus it mostly on the apples to give a very round cheek look. I haven’t decided what colour to use for the cheeks so I will experiment on my face charts.

Face Charts
I did many face charts before I found one that I liked and they are all shown below. I kept the eyebrows very natural in all of them and put white in all the water lines to make the eyes look bigger and more round. I also used blue eye contacts for all the looks because I think the blue eye contacts would really stand out with my model’s bright blonde hair. 
IMG_3717 IMG_3718
I really like the bright colours used on the eyes in face chart 1 and how there is such a big gap between the natural lash line and the new bottom lash line I put in. I think the colours blue, purple and pink together remind me of barbie because they are the colours she wears. I applied blue along the lower lash line to make her blue eyes really stand out. I really like the placement of the blush on the apples of the cheeks because it will make her cheeks look more round and full. I added a heart shape to her lips to make her look very loveable and endearing. I added freckles on both the face charts above to give a more youthful and fresh faced look. It won’t matter if they look painted on because they obviously would look painted on when on the doll.

Face chart 2 is the most dramatic look I did, with the very bright yellows and greens on the eyes and the very heavily drawn on bottom eyelashes. I think that this very harsh look would be more suitable for the Girl 2 (goth/emo) because it is very dramatic and hard looking and I want Girl 1 to be more soft and feminine. I also think the bright colours would be more suited to Girl 3 (hippie). I like that the blush was taken over the nose in this design because it gives a sun kissed glow to the face, but also adds youth. I made her lips very narrow to reflect a china doll’s lips and they also reflect the victorian style lip.

IMG_3719 IMG_3720
I really like how, in face chart 3, there is a big white gap between the natural lower lash line and the fake on because it makes her eyes look huge and awake. I also like that it’s been winged out as it makes the eyes look even bigger, playful and more flirty. The blue eyeshadow on the lid really brings out her blue eye contacts. I decided to add a strip of fake lower lashes on the drawn on lower lash line to make it look more realistic and also more creepy and intense looking. I decided to only use half eyelashes on the upper lash line or very natural looking lashes because I want the focus to be on the lower lashes to make her eyes look bigger. I decided to line the lash lines with dark purple because I thought black would be too harsh and I wanted a softer look. I really like the ombre lips, however I think it will make the lips look smaller than they actually are which it not the look I’m going for, so I don’t think I will use this technique.

Face chart 4 look quite messy and smudgy which is not the look I’m going for. I think the eyes are too dark with the smudged black along the lash lines and the blue is too dark, making the eyes look heavy. I added very big fake eyelashes to the upper lash line and then I added some long but very narrowly cut eyelashes slightly in from the outer corner on the lower lash line. I thought that this would give the illusion that the eyes were shorter and therefore more round, however I think it just looks weird and wrongly positioned.

IMG_3721
I really really don’t like this face chart! The blending is very smudgy and messing looking and the doll aspect of the makeup look is completely lost. I like the colour combination and the faded ombre lips, but I will not be using this face chart.

My Chosen Face Chart
IMG_3722
I really like how there is a big white gap between the natural lower lash line and the fake on because it makes her eyes look huge and awake. I also like that it’s been winged out as it makes the eyes look even bigger, playful and more flirty. The blue eyeshadow on the lid really brings out her blue eye contacts. I decided to add a strip of fake lower lashes on the drawn on lower lash line to make it look more realistic and also more creepy and intense looking. I decided to only use half eyelashes on the upper lash line or very natural looking lashes because I want the focus to be on the lower lashes to make her eyes look bigger. I decided to line the lash lines with dark purple because I thought black would be too harsh and I wanted a softer look. I used the same colour peachy pink of the cheeks and to blend out the lower lash line to bring everything together and make it look more polished. I added freckles to the cheeks and over the nose to give a very youthful look. I placed the blush only on the apples of the cheeks to make them look more round and full. I created an artificial lip line because I wanted them to look more narrow, just like the china doll’s do. This also reflects the victorian style makeup look.

Leave a Reply

