Black: 2012, Nick Knight – Editing and Music Inspiration

This fashion film was a collaboration between film director, Nick Knight and fashion designer, Alexander McQueen and American Express. The film was inspired by shots taken backstage at McQueen’s 2004 Amex-sponser show, Black, and the fashion film combined many images from the fashion show to show it in motion. The film was created to celebrate Savage Beauty and the McQueen legacy. 

KNIGHT, N., 2015. Black: 2015: Fashion Film – Nick Knight/Alexander McQueen [22 October 2015]. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jJuqc2ybF5k

When I watched this Fashion Film I felt so inspired and I really wanted to try to use some of the aspects in my own fashion film.

I really like how quick the editing is from clip to clip as I think it adds excitement, but also builds tension. The editing is really quick when they flash up the image and then distort it, possibly to not let the viewer be able to focus on it and adjust to the visual completely and therefore have questions. I noticed that a lot of the time it wasn’t just a case of quickly changing from scene to scene, but there was a black break in-between them to make it look like they were flashing up and making it look more jilted and unconnected. I don’t think the editing would have looked as dramatic if the clips hadn’t been separated like this and it has inspired me to do the same editing technique to add a more creepy and shocking effect to my fashion film. I think the editing is also really effective when the models are distorted and then quickly put back to normal because it adds a sense of horror and gives a more sinister feel.

I really like how the music was synchronised with the editing, meaning that when ever an image flashed on the screen, but music would also make a sharp noise. I like the fact that they haven’t used music people already know because then when people heard the music their mind would stem off onto things to do with the song, instead of focusing on the content. There wasn’t any flowing music until the end, before that it was more sound effects; I was inspired by this because I think the scary and static sound effects create a very uncertain and spooky atmosphere to the film, which is what I want to create in my own fashion film. The sounds effects/music is very broken up which I feel like it adds a sense of confusion and possibly panic. I feel like if the music was continuous then it wouldn’t have any shock factor as the viewer would just get used to it and expect it.

I liked that some scenes in the fashion film were blurred and not completely clear because it added a sense of unknowing and made you try and work out what was actually being shown. I could use blurring in my fashion film to show confusion, or an emotional block; I could use it to reflect the feelings of the girls in the forrest or the father in a non-obvious and ambiguous way.

I love the use of layering in this fashion film as I think it adds a professionally looking touch and a smooth transition between scenes. In this film I think layering was used to slow down the speed and give almost a breather to the contorting fast paced clip changes. Another reason for using layering is to show the viewer two things at once and show the connection between them. In my fashion film I could possibly show an image of the father’s point of view layered with the girls’ perspective to show dramatic contrast. Layering could also be used to show someone’s face and then an image layered with their emotions showing through, like screaming or crying hysterically.

I really like the use of slow motion and then also speeding up in this film because it almost makes the model’s look animalistic and their movements very sharp or soft, depending on the chosen mood. I think I will definitely use the editing technique of speeding up the clips because I think it makes the model’s look more panicked and confused and anxious, which is exactly the emotion I want to project from the girls in the forrest. However I could then use slow motion when showing the flash backs to the father at home with his family to show that it’s almost a dream and that he is really living in a perfect dream world at home, but reality kicks in when he steps into the forrest.

The images in the film have been softly lit from behind to give the models an almost silhouette look but then, so that the detail is not lost, there has been a stronger light placed above the models. I really like how the lighting coming from above almost distorts the shape of the models’ faces and how it doesn’t show every detail because it makes them look very scary and intimidating, as if they’re in a horror film. I want the scenes in the forrest to be very dark, as if it is night time, so I will look into lighting techniques to use in the dark.

The images from Nick Knight’s photo shoot have been used in the film which I like because it adds a different media; it also breaks up the flow of movement to make it more disjointed. The film zooms in and out of the images so that it doesn’t look too static and to show crops of the image. I’m not sure whether I will include still images in my fashion film because it can be a bit visually tedious to keep seeing the same one image over again.

Resources:
SAVILLE, C., 2015. “BLACK: 2015” – Nick Knight/Alexander McQueen. In: Beautiful Savage. 30 March 2015 [22 October 2015]. Available from: http://beautifulsavage.com/fashion/black-2015-nick-knight-alexander-mcqueen/

SHOWSTUDIO, 2015. Black: 2015 [22 October 2015]. Available from:  http://showstudio.com/project/black_2015/fashion_film

Leave a Reply

